A form of melancholy in motion

my illegitimate truth and I were having some tea
we would have kissed but watchful eyes did pry
already contemplating the seditiousness of our symmetry
I called him a goblin and he called me pearl and we both laughed
I called him a “he” but he could be a “she”; a transgendered person
thus a frown did already emerge; forming like perspiration on glass
soon the waiter with his doubtful eyes to our smiles asked what is our order
we joked on homo sapien but he cringed at the taxonomicy so I referred to Adam and Eve
but he cringed more and scowl spoke in silence in the rigid terseness of his face
we ordered and he said it’s too much but we said we will to our content
I ordered two glasses of water and he said one would be enough — I insisted
he resigned with petulant rolling eye syndrome and left with the scowl heard
we laughed and people stared and I knew to them you were a ghost of a bygone asylum

to me you are real as the day in heat, the meals in plates and the dusk that dawned. ▬

Leave a Reply

